Early Years Foundation Stage 

The Early Years Foundation Stage is a document that all Early years providers, as well as schools, have to follow. The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) defines the legal requirements and standards for promoting the care, learning and development of children from birth to five years in Ofsted registered childcare provision.It enables your child to learn through a range of activities indoors and outdoors which will support your child in having the best possible start in life.

The EYFS requirements include:


The Learning and Development Requirements which shape the activities and experiences that childcare providers offer children.

The Assessment Requirements which detail how childcare providers monitor and plan for children’s progress.

The Safeguarding and Welfare Requirements which ensure children are kept safe and have their welfare promoted.

The EYFS  Learning & Development 

The EYFS has seven areas of learning and development that must shape educational programmes in early years settings.

Three of the learning areas are particularly crucial for igniting children's curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, and for building their capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive.


These three areas are called the 'Prime' areas and are:


* Communication and Language

* Physical Development

* Personal, Social and Emotional Development


We also have to support children in four 'Specific' areas of learning which are:


* Literacy

* Mathematics

*Understanding the World

* Expressive Arts and Design.

PLEASE NOTE: From September 2021 there are some changes to this framework so we will update you of these changes then, so watch this space.